

Galway City Community Network The Public Participation Network in Galway City

# Annual General Meeting Wednesday, June 28<sup>th</sup>, 2023

#### Attendance

Please see below.

#### **Welcome and Introductions**

The meeting was held in the Menlo Park Hotel. Tommy Flaherty chaired and opened the Plenary meeting by welcoming all. He invited those in attendance to share their names and organisations.

### **Minutes of Previous AGM and Matters Arising**

The minutes were circulated to all members ahead of the meeting and there were no changes to these. These were proposed by Brendan Smith, seconded by Lorraine Lally and deemed approved by all.

#### **GCCN Annual Report 2022 and GCCN Financial Report**

The GCCN Annual Report 2022 and the GCCN Financial Report were presented by GCCN staff. These were proposed by John Rabbitte, seconded by Cameron Keighron, and deemed approved by all.

#### **Secretariat Elections**

Tommy Flaherty, on behalf of GCCN, acknowledged and thanked the GCCN Secretariat for their work. It was noted that, earlier in the year, Islammiyah Saudique Kadejo had stepped down as a member of the Secretariat. A warm appreciation for her contribution was expressed by members present.

The terms of the following Secretariat members were complete: Shane Foran, Derrick Hambleton, John Rabbitte, Margaret O'Riada, and Tommy Flaherty, who stepped down, in line with Secretariat rules on term of service. They all put themselves forward for re-election.

Succession was discussed and new members were invited to nominate themselves to the Secretariat. Two nominations were received from the floor, one for Lorraine Lally and one for Vusi Thabethe.

Vusi Thabethe was proposed by Tommy Flaherty, seconded by Eleanor Hough and approved as a member of the Secretariat.

Lorraine Lally was proposed by Brendan Mulligan, seconded by Cameron Keighron, and approved by all as a member of the Secretariat.

Tommy Flaherty was proposed by Margaret O'Riada, seconded by Lorraine Lally and approved as a member of the Secretariat.

Shane Foran was proposed Tommy Flaherty, seconded by Brendan Smith, and approved as a member of the Secretariat.

Derrick Hambleton was proposed by Brendan Mulligan and seconded by Brendan Smith and approved as a member of the Secretariat.

Margaret O'Riada, was proposed Brendan Smith, seconded by Lorraine Lally and approved as a member of the Secretariat. Margaret agreed to stay for six months to develop a succession plan for the organisation.

John Rabbitte, was proposed by Tommy Flaherty, seconded by Caroline Stanley, and approved as a member of the Secretariat.

The Secretariat members for 2023 are:

- 1. Derrick Hambleton
- 2. Margaret Ó Riada
- An Taisce
  Galway Traveller Movement
- 3. Marian Maloney –
- 4. John Rabbitte
- 5. Thomas Flaherty
- 6. Arun Asan
  - an | A
- 7. Letizia Gorini-Coady
- 8. Shane Foran
- 9. Lorraine Lally
- 10. Vusi Thabethe

- Access for All
  - Woodhaven Residents Association
- Ballybane Community Resource Centre
  - Access for All
  - Youth Work Galway
  - Galway Cycling Campaign
  - Access for All / Epilepsy Ireland
  - Shining Light Galway

No AOB.

## Attendance

#### Present

Name	Organisation
Aidan Harte	University of Galway - Universities of Sanctuary
Arun Asan	Access for All
Brendan Mulligan	Engineers Ireland West Region
Brendan Smith	Tuatha of Terryland Forest Park
Cameron Keighron	AMACH!
Caroline Stanley	Friends of Merlin Woods
Ciara Coy	Galway City Partnership
Dette Mc Loughlin	Abortion Access Campaign West
Dominick Whelan	JCI Galway
Eleanor Hough	Grattan Court Residents Association
Heather Hinchon-Quinn	College Campus Radio DAC / Flirt FM 101.3
Helen Ogbu	Galway Volunteer Centre
Lorraine Lally	Access for All and Epilepsy Ireland
Margaret Ó Riada	Galway Traveller Movement
Marian Maloney	Access for All
Michael Conneely	Galway City School of Judo
Nichola Tierney	Westside Age Inclusion
Ope Dipson	Doughiska Men Shed
Paula Healy	College Campus Radio DAC / Flirt FM 101.3
Philip Hendrick	Galway Centre for Independent Living
Shane Foran	Galway Cycling Campaign
Suzanne McKane	Galway City Partnership
Sylvia Smith	Galway City Partnership
Tommy Flaherty	Ballybane Community Resource Centre
Thom Stewart	An Áit Eile
Thomas Kelly	Galway Visually Impaired Activity Club

## In Attendance:

Name	Organisation
Brian Doherty	GCCN
Oana Nicoara	GCCN
Rebecca Jackson	GCCN