

Galway City Community Network CLG

Address: Westside Community Resource Centre

Seamus Quirke Road, Galway

Phone: +353 (0) 87 9326467 / (0) 87 4328489
Email: info@galwaycitycommunitynetwork.ie
Website: www.galwaycitycommunitynetwork.ie

Annual General Meeting

July 20th, 2022

Attendance

Please see below.

Apologies

Karen Golden, Eleanor Hough, Martin O'Connor, David Byrne, Jacquie Horan, Fiona McDonagh-Delaney, Tommy Flaherty, Aimee McGee, Caroline Stanley.

Welcome & Introductions

This meeting was held via Zoom. Margaret O'Riada chaired the meeting, welcomed all in attendance and asked everyone to introduce themselves.

Minutes of Previous AGM and Matters Arising

The minutes were circulated to all members ahead of the meeting. The minutes were proposed by Derick Hambleton, seconded by Marian Maloney, and approved. There were no matters arising.

The important contribution to the work of GCCN of Terrence McDonagh, who passed away the year prior, was recognised by the chair. He will be warmly remembered for his support.

The contribution of Anne Irwin, the former GCCN Co-ordinator, and Jacinta Fay, the current Co-ordinator, into the Annual Report 2021 was recognised by the chair and members present.

Annual Report

The Annual Report 2021 was circulated to all members ahead of the meeting and was taken as read. No comments or edits were received by email or from the Plenary attendees. Margaret thanked all GCCN members, the GCCN representatives and the GCCN staff for all their work throughout 2021. A particular mention was made regarding the vital input, and contributions of the GCCN representatives on SPCs and Linkage Groups.

The members present commended the GCCN team on their work to support policy contributions, funding opportunities and awareness raising in public planning processes.

The responsiveness of the Galway City Council to GCCN representatives and contributions was discussed. This will be followed up by GCCN staff in the future.

The Annual Report 2021 was presented by Brian Doherty, proposed by Marian Maloney, seconded by Derek Hambleton, and approved.

Financial Report

Margaret O'Riada presented the 2021 Financial Report. The Financial Report was proposed by John Rabbitte, seconded by Derek Hambleton, and approved.

Elections to the Secretariat

Margaret O'Riada, on behalf of GCCN, acknowledged and thanked the GCCN Secretariat for their work.

Lorraine Grimes has retired. Marian Maloney and John Rabbitte have retired in line with Secretariat rules on term of service and have put themselves forward for reelection. Lisa Fenwick proposed that they are re-elected, and Arun Asan seconded. This was approved.

Arun Asan's position on the Secretariat was ratified. He was proposed by John Rabbitte and seconded by Lisa Fenwick. This was approved.

One nomination for Letizia Gorini-Coady was received by the GCCN Secretariat. Brendan Mulligan, proposed this, John Rabbitte seconded it and this was approved.

The Secretariat members for 2022 are:

- 1. Shane Foran
- 2. Derrick Hambleton
- 3. Margaret Ó Riada
- 4. Marian Maloney
- 5. John Rabbitte
- 6. Thomas Flaherty
- 7. Islammiyah Saudique
- 8. Arun Asan
- 9. Letizia Gorini-Coady

- Galway Cycling Campaign
- An Taisce
- Galway Traveller Movement
- Access for All
- Woodhaven Residents Association
- Ballybane Community Resource Centre
- Amdalah Africa Foundation
- Access for All
- Youth Work Galway.

AOB

The continuance of the auditor was discussed. Derick Hambleton proposed Candor were retained, Phil Hendrick seconded. This was approved.

The AGM was formally closed, and the meeting continued with community conversations.

Attendees

Name		Organisation
Anne Marie	Stokes	Galway Traveller Movement
Arun	Asan	Access for all
Brendan	Mulligan	Engineers Ireland West Region
Ciara	Coy	Galway City Partnership
Dominick	Whelan	SPC Rep/JCI
Derick	Hambleton	An Taisce
John	Rabbitte	Woodhaven Residents
James	Coyne	Westside Resource Centre
Joanne	Laffey	SCCUL Enterprises CLG
Justin	Martin	Engineers Ireland West
Lisa	Fenwick	DFI
Lorraine	Lally	Access for All
Margaret	Riada	Galway Traveller Movement
Marian	Maloney	Access for All
Nichola	Tierney	Westside age inclusion Itd
Opelson	Dipson	Yoruba Heritage / Africa United Galway
Phil	Hendrick	Galway Centre for Independent Living
Sarah	McNabb	Access for All
Thom	Stewart	An Áit Eile
Thomas	Quinlan	Galway Civic Trust
Rebecca	Jackson	GCCN
Brian	Doherty	GCCN