A range of local organisations including Galway City Community Network, Galway City Partnership, Galway Traveller Movement, AMACH LGBT Galway, Cope Galway, Threshold Galway, the Bridge Project, the Disability Federation of Ireland, Access for All and the Galway Anti Racism Network are working collaboratively to call on all candidates in the General Election 2020 to ensure equality and inclusion.

#EVG Manifesto – click to download

Adopting the values of Community, Decency and Participation, #EqualityVotesGalway have developed equality manifestos for the general and local elections, attending Galway City Council meetings in an observational capacity and supporting members to access training on equality issues.

On January 31st, #EVG organised an event to which all Galway West candidates standing for the national election were invited to signe the #EVG manifesto,  ensuring that equality is at the heart of their representation.

The manifesto contains a request for pledges under five headings:

  • Social Inclusion, Local Development and Community Development;
  • Housing and Accommodation;
  • Climate Action, Recreation and Amenity;
  • Planning, Transport and Infrastructure, and;
  • Health.

The event took place in the Harbour Hotel, Galway and it was live streamed by Galway Politics Live, with the candidates and #EVG members discussing equality issues facing the people of Galway. 

A recording of the discussions led by Galway Politics Live as live streamed on Facebook on January 31st is available here.

The event was also featured in the local media (see details here and here).

Signatures – #EVG manifesto

Thank you to the candidates who signed on the day:

– Conor Burke (Sol)
– Niall McNelis (Lab)
– Niall Ó Tuathail (SD)
– Joe Loughnane (PBP)
– Catherine Connolly (Ind)
– Éamon Ó Cuív (FF)
– Mike Cubbard (Ind)
– Mairéad Farrell (SF)
– Pauline O’Reilly (GP)
– Seán Kyne (FG)


– Cormac O Corcoráin (Aon)

– Hildegarde Naughton (FG)

– Noel Grealish (Ind)

All remaining candidates standing for Galway West were urged by the consortium to sign the #EqualityVotesGalway manifesto and thereby commit to championing the list of equality issues identified in the document. No further signature were collected.

The list of elected 2020 Galway West TDs is available here.

The General Elections 2020 #EVG Manifesto is available for download at the link below:

Pictures from the #EVG event and discussions: