June GCCN Plenary

The second Plenary of 2019 will take place on Wednesday, June 26th at 6.30pm (6pm for registration) in the Menlo Park Hotel, Galway.

GCCN has invited all the new Galway City Councillors to attend this Plenary meeting. This will be a good opportunity to meet them and to discuss ways in which we can work together over the lifetime of the new Council.

The meeting will also discuss the process for electing the new GCCN Reps – the elections to be held at the GCCN Plenary meeting in September. For more info check this post.

Councillors that have confirmed their attendance:Awaiting for confirmation from:Apologies received from:
Owen Hanley (SD)
Frank Fahy (FG)
Martina O’Connor (GP)
Colette Connolly (Ind)
Ollie Crowe (FF)
Alan Cheevers (FF)
Noel Larkin (Ind)
Donal Lyons (Ind)
Peter Keane (FF)
Clodagh Higgins (FG)
John Connolly (FF)
Pauline O’Reilly (GP)
Declan McDonnell (Ind)
Terry O’Flaherty (Ind)
Niall McNelis (LP)
Michael Crowe (FF)
Mike Cubbard (Ind)
Eddie Hoare (FG)
On this occasion, the Councillors in attendance will introduce the priorities for their term of office as a Galway City Councillor.

All Councillors will be asked to consider the five areas contained in the #EqualityVotesGalway (#EVG) Manifesto:

  • Social Inclusion, Local Development and Community Development
  • Housing and Accommodation
  • Recreation and Amenity
  • Planning, Transport & Infrastructure
  • Accountability and Transparency

The #EVG Manifesto was developed prior to the local elections by Galway City Community Network, Galway City Partnership, Galway Traveller Movement, Amach LGBTI+, Cope Galway, the Bridge Project, the Disability Federation of Ireland, Access for All and the Galway Anti-racism Network.  To download the #EVG Manifesto please check the link below.

To confirm your attendance, please email Oana at communications@gccn.ie.

Your response is important, so even if you are unable to attend please let us know.

All GCCN members welcome – with a particular welcome for new members.