GCCN Structure

Galway City Community Network is the Public Participation Network for Galway city.

Plenary Membership

The Galway City Community Network membership is the main decision making body of the PPN. It meets in Plenary four times a year. Members can propose motions for changes to policy or positions at the quarterly meetings.


 The Secretariat of Galway City Community Network  is comprised of up to 12 GCCN members who work entirely on a voluntary basis. They are responsible for ensuring that the aims, objectives of GCCN are implemented. The Secretariat is elected by the Plenary membership at the Annual General Meeting, when there is a turnover of at least one third of the group. The Secretariat aim to:

– Organise business and agendas for Galway City Community Network
– Day-to-day management of GCCN
– Co-ordinate activities of the Linkage Groups
– Participate in the Linkage Groups
– Act as a support to representatives and facilitate information sharing.
– Facilitate the evaluation of GCCN activities.

Current Members

The current members of the Steering Committee 2014 are:

Derrick HambletonAn TaisceEnvironment
Terry McDonoughEnvironmental PillarEnvironment
Donncha FoleyGalway Volunteer CentreVoluntary
Imelda GormallyGalway City PartnershipSocial Inclusion
James CoyneWestside Resource CentreSocial Inclusion
Margaret Ó RiadaGalway Traveller MovementSocial Inclusion
Marian MaloneyGalway Centre for Independent LivingSocial Inclusion
Nichola TierneyWestside Age InclusionSocial Inclusion
Eleanor HoughGrattan Court Residents AssociationVoluntary
Garry LohanJCI GalwayVoluntary
Shane ForanGalway Cycling CampaignVoluntary
Tommy FlahertyBallybane Community Resource CentreVoluntary
// Hide author and date from posts